Todd Burpo – Heaven Is For Real Movie Edition

Note: This is a free review copy

I have not read the original book so I thought it would be a great idea to request this one. It’s about a 4 year old boy, Colton who experienced heaven when he was having surgery. This is the core of the story but you get so much garnish around it. It’s set in a chronological logic and not a thematic logic, meaning you will read the events as they happened after each other, except for a few points. Of course it’s much more than the heaven element. There are other miracles and events enveloping it that are useful for you to take something away from the story.

I liked the book. It really reinforced all I already believed because of the Bible and other people who have been caught up in body or in visions into the third heaven. It’s also important to note that the story was very honest and didn’t try to hide the Burpo’s sins. It really was a page-turner at some points. I however really expected some, if not tremendous new revelation from the book. This expectation went unfulfilled for me. The part that I didn’t like was the interview with the directors/actors, etc. Some of those were okay, but most of them just recited wordly non-sense which made me read those as fast as I could. They are inarguably the weakest part of the book.

Overall I highly recommend it, but be sure to skip the last 15% of it, because that just decreases the quality of this otherwise wonderful book.

This entry was posted in Non-fiction Biography/autobiography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.