Jerry B. Jenkins – A Generous Impulse: The Story of George Sweeting

Note: This is not a free review copy. I purchased this from my own money.

jerry

This book is about the life of George Sweeting. It’s a biography, not a collection of testimonies. This means that you will read about the whole life of the author – from childhood to death – and not just some parts of it. In it you will find how Sweeting was raised and he became the great man of God he was. You will also learn about His trials and afflictions and not just the nice stuff. While this books aim isn’t to teach you, it certainly will even if you don’t notice it.

I liked this book but didn’t love it. Everyone (even I) tends to rush reading a great book. I could easily keep reading only one chapter a day (as I purposed). This book is good and will help you rejoice with Sweeting when he rejoices and weep with him when he weeps. I benefited largely from reading it and you will too. My disappointment comes from the fact that I expected rather testimonies. Healing miracles, raising the dead, etc. were my expectation. This books contains very little of the miraculous. I felt as if Sweeting could have done roughly 80-90% of what he really did without the help of the Holy Spirit (– and maybe I am right, because maybe he did. Only God knows it.)

I recommend it to those who are interested in this man’s story. I also recommend it for those who want to read a complete story a complete biography, because it’s great at that.

What other biographies do you recommend?

This entry was posted in Non-fiction Biography/autobiography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.